First time for everything

What a day! Last night was the first night that baby has slept in her room, in her crib, overnight, since she’s been home. Up until last night, she’s always slept in her pack and play thing, in our room. And every once in a while, in our bed, so I could get my cuddle time in..

Honestly, it was by no means a staggering success, but it wasn’t an overwhelming failure, either. We gave her, her bed time bottle, red her a book, and wrapped her in her halo sack. She slept pretty well for the first part of the night. She woke up a few times, but nothing a binkie couldn’t fix, lol. Edit: tonight we tried that again, but this time without the sleep slack, and it wasn’t as successful as last night. I only had to sing her the same Ron Pope song 9 times before she fell asleep, and as I sit here typing this sentence, I can hear her making noise again..so maybe 10 is the magic number? I guess we will see how the night goes tonight.

 

Today was her official 1 month checkup with the doctor. She hasn’t gained a lot of weight, a little less than an ounce, actually, but the doc say’s she’s healthy. She’s grown about 3 inches overall. We did come to the conclusion today at the doctors though, that she might have a lactose intolerance, much like her father. (poor thing). So poor E has to cut the dairy out of her life for a while, so see if that helps take care of things. We figured we will give it about 3 weeks and see if that clears it up. It’ll be  rough for E, too. Her go to comfort food has always been ice cream of some sort. And tacos…we love tacos. It’s easy for me, mine isn’t so bad, I can’t take a pill or two and I’ll be fine. Sadly, that won’t work for her. Although, I do drink almond milk, so we went and bought another carton of that. I think once she gets the hang of it, she’ll love it, lol.

We our headed up to see papa tomorrow day, and take him a laptop that I’m building, so he can see the website that I built for baby. Right now, it’s just a photo dump site, but it’s her full name, and when she gets older, she can use it for whatever she wants. Maybe she’ll be an engineer, like dear old dad? Or a doctor, so she can take care of me, as I fall apart, (more than I already am). Papa hasn’t seen her in a while, so I’m sure it will be a nice surprise for both of them. Of course, for me, it will be an educational time, trying to teach my father how to use something tech, aside from his 2001 flip phone. Who knows, though, maybe he’ll catch right on, and end up being good at this whole computer thing…haha…I couldn’t even keep a straight face writing that. Oh, all this talk about website reminds me, if you’re family, or close friend, message me and I’ll give you the address. I’m not gonna post it here, as this is a public blog, and I don’t need some creeper stalking my daughter.

Well, looks like it’s almost time for bed, we have our walk thru with the day care tomorrow morning. Oh, and more good news! E got her transfer at work to move to the campus that is only about 5 minutes from our house, instead of the one that’s 45 minutes away! So now, baby and mommy will be at the same site! I guess overall, it’s been a pretty good day. Keep your heads up, new dads..it won’t get easier, but you’ll get better at it, I promise.

Leave a Reply

